The Best (And Worst) Liquid Lipsticks For Olive Skin

Matte liquid lipsticks seem to be all the rage these days – and for good reason! They go on like silk, smell amazing, dry to a velvety finish, and don’t wear off after only a few hours. Or at least they’re supposed to, but sadly some of them aren’t as great as they claim…

For years I had struggled to find a nude/day shade that suited my skin tone, as most lipsticks that suit caucasian skin come up too pale on me, and lipsticks that suit dark skin come out too dark on me.

lippp

So in my quest to find a happy medium that worked with my mixed race skin, I’ve spent the last year trying out various brands of liquid lipstick, to see which ones live up to the hype and which ones are a total waste of money. I chose to go for similar shades, from nude to a dusty pink colour, that complimented my olive skin, and to try and get my hands on as many of the most popular shades from the most popular brands.

So, here is what I discovered:

 

SLEEK Matte Me – “Velvet Slipper”

sleek

I’ve used a lot of Sleek’s eyeshadow palettes before and they’re absolutely stunning, so I assumed their liquid lipsticks would be at least half decent. And I was right – they were HALF decent.

When applying “Velvet Slipper“, I found that the smooth formula went on really easily, and wasn’t particularly patchy. It dried in less than a minute to a beautiful dusty rose colour that I thought looked amazing.

The frustrating thing is that about two minutes after it dries it immediately starts to flake off in clumps that end up all over your teeth, and about 45 minutes later you’re left with nothing but an outline on the edges of your lips.

It’s possibly because the formula is too dry, or the pigmentation needs to be adjusted, but either way I was quite disappointed with what seemed to start off as a great shade.

3/10


L.A. GIRL Matte Pigment Gloss – “Fleur”

fleur

I was really looking forward to trying something from this range as I had previously bought “Rebel“, which is a deep plum/burgundy shade from L.A. Girl, that I absolutely adored. So when “Fleur” arrived in the post, I immediately rushed to try it out.

My initial swatch looked excellent and seemed to compliment my skin, so I applied it to my lips which also looked excellent. It was only when I left the house and saw the colour out in the daylight that I realised that it has a significantly orange tinge to it, which becomes really noticeable once it has totally dried.

Alongside this, even though it has dried it soon becomes very tacky and makes your lips slightly stick together which gets very annoying, and causes a bit of a build up of the lipstick.

I probably won’t rush out to repurchase this shade, but I do tend to wear it when I start running out of my other nude shades.

4.5/10


STILA Stay All Day Liquid Lipstick – “Patina”

 

patina

I’d heard a lot of really, really good things about this shade being fantastic so I was very curious to try it out. And let me tell you… BELIEVE THE HYPE!

Patina” is the most beautiful shade of dusty rose I’ve probably ever worn. It smells delicious, goes on with utter silky precision, and somehow manages to stay soft and fluid even after it has dried.

It’s relatively cheap for the kind of quality you get (about £16), and it lasted about 6-7 months, which was with me using it at least three times a week. I think a lot of this is down to you not having to really re-apply it that much, as one coat is often enough to last you most of the day. It sometimes gets a little clumpy if you reapply it after you’ve eaten or have been drinking, but it’s only a minor issue to deal with.

I can honestly say I’ve never gotten as many compliments or questions from strangers about my lipstick than I have with “Patina“. I couldn’t stop using it, and I can’t wait to buy it again.

9/10


COLOURPOP Ultra Matte Liquid Lipstick – “Beeper”

beeper-2

I am an absolute sucker for Colourpop Cosmetics – namely their eyeshadow collections. The different shades that they have for your eyes are flawless, and last ALL day so it only seemed right that I should buy some of their lipsticks to try them out.

“Beeper” was actually the first liquid lipstick that I ever purchased so I had high hopes for it. And to be honest, it was pretty good but didn’t quite live up to my expectations. It applies smoothly and looks like a lovely darkish nude shade, but after about a minute it has dried so vigorously that you can see every line in your lips.

I tried to eradicate this by using a lip scrubber before applying the lipstick but it doesn’t do anything to make it any less dry-feeling. On top of drying out pretty quickly, this shade seems to have an almost grey tone to it, which makes it feel quite unnatural to wear during the day.

But if you’re happy to go for a more edgy day look then this may be a great shade for you to experiment with. For my first liquid lipstick, this one wasn’t too bad and I did enjoy using it, but only for specific makeup looks.

6.5/10


LIME CRIME Velvetines Matte Liquid Lipsticks – “Shroom”

shroom

If you’ve heard about liquid lipsticks, you’ve most certainly heard about the massive collection of Velvetines from Lime Crime. I’ve sadly only had the chance to own two shades from their collection – “Salem” (which is a beautiful rich brown colour), and “Shroom”.

Speaking of the latter, I do believe that I have finally found the exact kind of shade that I’ve been searching for for ages. I regularly try and purchase a “dark nude” shade whenever I see one, and they either come up looking far too dark brown, or far too light beige, but Shroom gets it just right so it’s recently become my new favourite.

It’s very versatile so you can wear it in the evening for a simplistic look, or during the day for something a little edgier. In terms of application, the consistency of the formula is beautiful and smooth (but does weirdly smell a little bit like Playdough), and it looks naturally sleek in any kind of lighting.

It does have a bit of an orange-y tone to it, but once it’s settled on your lips you barely even notice it. At first it seems like it’s not drying and going tacky instead, but after about a minute your lips don’t stick together anymore and it actually dries (as the name suggests) like velvet. Very impressed.

8/10


KAT VON D Everlasting Liquid Lipstick – “Bow And Arrow”

kat-von

If you’re a big fan of Kat’s cosmetics, I suggest you turn away now because you’re not going to like this…

Despite the MASSIVE hype surrounding her Everlasting collection, I honestly really hate this lipstick. There are so many bad things about it, so I have no idea why so many people swear by it.

When I first applied it, I thought that it seemed like a beautiful nude shade that matched my skin tone really well, but once it started to dry it looked as if I wasn’t even wearing any lipstick at all (which is not necessarily a good thing). The consistency of the formula is so watery, that it takes a few coats before it even stops being patchy, and even after that it starts to wear off after about half an hour. Even when I haven’t eaten or drunk anything it still starts coming off shortly after it’s been applied.

And if you’re thinking that I accidentally purchased a fake – I bought the lipstick at her flagship store on Oxford Street so there are no chances of it being a dupe. I also bought the shade “Nosferatu” a couple of days later, just in case I had somehow gotten hold of a bad batch, and that shade was EVEN WORSE. You can buy better red liquid lipsticks for £4 in Superdrug.

I would never buy another Everlasting Liquid Lipstick again, and am still gutted that I totally wasted my money on two of her over-hyped shades. What a shame.

1.5/10


MILANI Amore Matte Lip Creme – “Loved”

milani

By far and away THE BEST liquid lipsticks I’ve ever used. I honestly cannot recommend Milani Cosmetics’ lipsticks highly enough.

Loved” is just the perfect day-to-day, wearable dusty rose colour – that you can wear throughout your day time look and in the evening when you go out. It goes on SO smooth, dries without going flaky or patchy, and (literally) smells like a vanilla cupcake! It also lasts you months and months, as you only have to apply it once or twice a day.

It appears just pink enough without looking unnatural, and goes with pretty much any eyeshadow look. It complements my skin tone without being overbearing, and it lasts almost all day. They’ve also just released a huge new batch of amazing metallic liquid lipstick shades, and I can’t wait to try some of them out!

With some of their darker/reddish shades, the pigmentation is still there but they do tend to come off a little more after eating or drinking. But the shade “Loved” is superb! And it only costs about £8! Stock up today – you seriously won’t regret it.

 10/10

Leave a Reply

